Kaws at YSP

I had been over a few times to walk around the park and enjoyed the Kaws exhibition but I had not managed to find time to get up to the Long Gallery or do some sketching. Just before it closed I managed to squeeze 4 hours in and was not disappointed.

These are a fairly typical approach to drawing that I have when I go gallery drawing, I always try to take one sensible pencil case but always end up with at least 3. I then love to sit on the floor and draw what comes to me which may or may not include signs of what i am actually looking at. They are often a hybrid of forms or / and paintings.

In the case of the Kaws exhibition, the drawings are quite suggestive of it with the silhouettes and crosses for eyes. I keep a drawing blog [although not so much this past 18 months] and I went through a phase of about a year when a lot of drawings featured a great big X through them [often in pink or red]. https://drawing.me.uk/

I often think of my drawings as being fairly colorful, sitting with the KAWS work made me think otherwise – rather dull.

 

Leave a Reply

