Exploring Cross Stitch

There are a number of things that I associate [as do others] with perhaps typical hobby outcomes. Cross stitch is one such craft and it felt appropriate that I should explore this further. Like a lot [if not all] of the textiles I make, I consider them as drawing. if not a direct observation of something I see, it is an action that takes time and consideration as it creates marks on a surface.

I have done a number of samples that include cross stitch but have not been able to find the focus or stamina to follow a pre-printed edition. Instead I tend to stitch intuitively although [as can be seen in this sample], I may draw some guidelines for shapes on the ground first.

c2ar
Making it up Cross Stitch. Cotton on Linen. [Perren, 2016]
c1r
Trying to follow directions from a 1981, Readers digest Manual. [Perren, 2016]

Leave a Reply

