Learning to make Glass Beads.

I was lucky enough to go to Berlin this month [a field trip with students] and found the time to find out about a few workshops that i could take part in. i was keen to experience something I really had no experience in and so I picked the glass bead making session. It was an organised group session however I was the only one so got a 1:1 session for an hour and then had a few hours after to work under my own steam.

I was totally transfixed with the process, it was strange to be doing something so hands on yet their was no skin to material contact while it was being made. When drawing or making textiles, the hand and touch plays such an important role – particularly in terms of having a direct understanding of how a material is responding.

Here you can see the results of this session and my notes on what to do. I am interested in perhaps developing this further if it feels appropriate. I have found, although not yet visited, a studio which offers open workshops for glass bead making in Hebdon Bridge which is quite local to me.

g1r
Hand made glass beads. [Perren, 2016]
g2r
Hand made glass beads. [Perren, 2016]

Leave a Reply

