Exploring non quilted stitch

When it come to textiles, for the last few months the focus has been on quilting. I’m quite happy with this but as a mum I often find myself at locations waiting for one of my daughters, quilts are not exactly portable so I have used the time to explore textiles in other ways in more bite size pieces.  Much like the amateur knitter sitting at the side of the local pool, I found myself doing some embroidery [although I would consider them to be drawings].

These samples have again allowed me to engage with a slowness of pace in working and the ability to use time in a manner that I could have some autonomy. I believe these approaches to stitch might be worth further development with regards to narrative and materiality.

e2a
Stitch Exploration 1. cotton, jute, Japanese tape yarn, beads, sequins. [Perren, 2015]
e5r
Stitch Exploration 2. Sheer viscose, beads, waxed linen, sequin. [Perren, 2015]
e4ar
Stitch Exploration 3. Cotton, polystyrene, velvet, dipped paper yarn, tyvek, beads, netting. [Perren, 2015]

Leave a Reply

