Studies of making and scraps

I have been doing quite a few studies of the work of others over the last few months so it seemed appropriate to do the same for some of my own creations.

By engaging actively rather than from a distance I develop a different kind of relationship with the original pieces. The making of the pieces become an engaged act in which I am ‘simply’ creating artifacts for a still life. I like that level of engagement and intensity, not sure what it communicates outside of my studio however.

sb17r
Study of my first Quilted sample 1, pelt tips, liquid acrylic pen on paper. 12 x 22 cm [Perren, 2015]
sb18r
Study of my first Quilted sample 2. Acrylic on paper, 40 x 30 cm [Perren, 2015]
sb16r
Study of Quilted piece. Felt tip and pencil on paper. 18 x 20 cm [Perren, 2015]

Leave a Reply

