Village Quilting Bee

For part of the PHD I am considering setting up a 3 month trial Quilting Bee in my village, I am keen for this to be a multi-generational project although I will not force it if it does not happen. To attract possibly different age ranges I am thinking about running one session during the week in a morning and another in an evening.

I am not a knowledgeable quilter so it will be interesting to see if it is something we will all develop knowledge of together or if people will attend with a range of quilting skills already?

I am also keen to stick with the original concept of a quilting bee which would ensure groups of people coming together, socializing and eating but with the aim to create quilts quickly (many hands working together) for families in need when the settlers were moving into new homes etc.

I have many questions about setting one up, need to find an appropriate space etc. In the meantime, I have been invited to one that is already up and running in a village near by so we will see what that brings.  I also intend to join in with a craft club (where everyone gets on with their own work) at a coffee shop in town.

Women and Children at a Quilting Bee, Manitoba, Canada. (1880-1950?)

quilting_bee

Painting by Grandma Moses of a Quilting Bee, (1940-1950)

the-quilting-bee

Leave a Reply

