Peyote Beading

So I have quite a collection of beautiful seed beads that I have been collecting on and off for about 6 years, generally I stitch with them but having seen the work of Joyce J Scott I decided to broaden my horizons.

beads-rSeed beads are rather small [they range in size but are generally a couple of mm], spherical, tubular, shiny, matt, opaque and come in multitudes of tone and colour. I tend to enjoy working with them in the same way as creating a drawing with a 0.05 fine liner or when attempting to paint with accuracy. This scale of making, drawing or painting forces me to slow down and shut out any external interference.

I often like to work quite gesturally and tend to throw things down on the paper, so taking my time with something provides and requires a different kind of energy and approach. I find when work is becoming particularly hectic [usually in the autumn term; every year] these approaches are adopted more readily.

So, Peyote Stitch Beading [also known as Gourd Stitch] it’s origin is not specifically known but we do know that it has been used extensively by African and Native American cultures. I have explored and created a number of samples, firstly as a flat piece of ‘cloth’ and secondly as a free form structure. The technique is something that I am interested in investigating further, I am particularly keen to combine it with other techniques, perhaps as a mode to develop narrative. When handled, they have quite a calming response in that fhey feel good when moved between your fingers.

b1r
Flat Peyote [Perren, 2015]
b2r
Peyote Form [Form, 2015]

Leave a Reply

